Go Back   Just Us Nurses! A Forum for Nurses. Learn, Share, Discuss, Conversate. The Choice is Yours. Join Us Today! > Nursing Today > General Nursing Discussions

User Tag List

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By SVL

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2012, 08:41 PM

Thanked 1,118 Times in 728 Posts
My Mood:
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default What I did today.

Today was supposed to be day 2 of my 3 day week. Day 1 I had a fever, and today I was called because of an overstaffing issue and I guess it was my turn (or maybe they were just pissed at me for being sick yesterday).

Anyway, this is nothing new, I'm not the happiest with my hospital. While I recognize that I am a new nurse and it provides a lot of learning opportunities for me, I just wish I was at a better facility. I feel that at some point, I will get stagnant and not learn as much as I could. This is not a place where I want to be forever. 7 months in and I'm already itching to move.

I want to do medical oncology, and while I work on the medical oncology floor- for one, it's closed now until after new year because of a low census, and for two we rarely even give chemo in the first place. I want to give chemo. more than anything, I want to do chemo. Want to be a chemo nurse, and that's that! Darn it all, and I will BE that some day.

I applied to every RN position under the sun within a 50 mile radius of home. MD offices, acute care, oncology, non-oncology, you name it, if I even sort of qualified, I applied. My eyes hurt from being on the computer all day.

I even managed to get my discussions in for school too.

I need a better job. I'm just getting impatient. I don't mean to be a snot, but I know I'm better than where I work. I want to be somewhere with not only a better reputation, but a better morale overall. It kind of sucks to be at work every day and have everyone hate the place. BOO! That can't be good.