Go Back   Just Us Nurses! A Forum for Nurses. Learn, Share, Discuss, Conversate. The Choice is Yours. Join Us Today! > Nursing Today > General Nursing Discussions

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2008, 10:44 PM
Owner/Administrator

Thanked 7,713 Times in 4,409 Posts
My Mood:
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Default RN Magazine ~ Oct 1953 Some Things Will Never Change

Nurses attitudes 55 years ago...

I'm not trying to start any heated discussion, I've been an LPN and an RN, I just think these letters are very interesting. How some issues in nursing just don't change although I say to the LPN's you have come a long way baby! And rightfully so !

Dear Editor:

I am a nurse with a ASN and two years of training. I don't like being classified as a practical nurse since I received my training under the supervision of a bona fide nursing school. I have a family now and regret not finishing my training. Since going back to nursing again, I have found many former nursing students who are experiencing the same regrets. We are a group of nurses now older and wiser, and would be more than eager to finish our training. We cannot go away to school for three years but feel so obsolete without an R.N. We are made to feel that way by those who didn't have to leave school because of circumstances. We would like to be recognized as a necessary group of nurses. Why not make a kingdom for us and let us share a little of nursing's great prestige and respect? I hope I haven't insulted anyone and forgive me if I have, but I do think something should be done about this frustrating position.

Mrs. Leonard T. Disler Hamilton, Indiana

Dear Editor: