Go Back   Just Us Nurses! A Forum for Nurses. Learn, Share, Discuss, Conversate. The Choice is Yours. Join Us Today! > Nursing Today > General Nursing Discussions

User Tag List

Like Tree74Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2015, 07:28 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Default Desk duty this week d/t injury

I had a dementia pt this week wake up at 2 AM in a rampage. We ran to this person's room because the bed exit alarm sounded. Pt was a high fall risk, so we got a chair behind this person and sat them down in the chair. The pt was still throwing punches and screaming. I went to go hold down one armand this pt kicked my knee cap sideways. OUCH!!!

We were so short staffed that I had to finish my shift before I could go down to the ER for an xray. They think my MCL is torn. I won't know for sure until the MRI.

I'm a new nurse, only been on the job 90 days. I can't afford to take time off right now. UGH! I'm really hoping I don't need surgery. So, I'm on desk duty for the remainder of the week until we know what's going on. Crutches and no weight bearing until Tuesday.
Reply With Quote Go to top
Nursing Forum, Nursing Education, Nursing School, Nursing Chat, Nursing Bulletin Board, Nursing Vent, RN, LPN
Old 10-25-2015, 07:31 PM

Thanked 1,365 Times in 941 Posts
My Mood:
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)

oh CRAP! What a bad hand to get dealt so soon into your job! Well, the GOOD news is this is Worker's Comp for certain, no one can question that. But you're right in that you just don't need to get stuck with this just yet. Maybe, hopefully, it'll be a quick fix (arthroscopic surgery isn't even an admission) and you won't need much time. And DO make sure to file that WC claim!
Old 10-25-2015, 07:35 PM

My Mood:
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MoreDilaudidPlease! View Post