Go Back   Just Us Nurses! A Forum for Nurses. Learn, Share, Discuss, Conversate. The Choice is Yours. Join Us Today! > The Nurse Forums > RN's

User Tag List

Like Tree35Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2015, 10:33 PM
Owner/Administrator

Thanked 7,713 Times in 4,409 Posts
My Mood:
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Default Didn't want a BSN but had no choice in the matter

After 10 years as an RN I decided I wanted to be a Nurse Practitioner so at age 56 I re-entered the college life. I had to get my BSN if I wanted to be an NP so naturally that is what I did first. Of course I didn't get any raise or recognition at work that I had earned my BSN. I certainly did not want to go into any kind of management. I am a nurse who loves patient care. Hated to spend the time and money to get my BSN but what other choice did I have?

Joanna MSN, APRN, FNP-BC

Reply With Quote Go to top
Nursing Forum, Nursing Education, Nursing School, Nursing Chat, Nursing Bulletin Board, Nursing Vent, RN, LPN
Old 10-15-2015, 07:47 AM

Thanked 2,093 Times in 1,401 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

I hear ya. Working in academia they really want at least a BSN, but I am not doing it. Luckily, because I got certified in a specialty that is hard to get into and hard to recruit for I am fine. For now.

At age 53 the debt load just doesn't make sense for me. I want to retire at 62!

The Following User Says Thank You to crunch For This Useful Post:
Nursing Forum, Nursing Education, Nursing School, Nursing Chat, Nursing Bulletin Board, Nursing Vent, RN, LPN
Old 10-15-2015, 02:46 PM

Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,199 Posts
My Mood:
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)

My MSN did not add a dime to my salary. Crunch I agree if you plan on staying at the same place there is no value to a BSN.
icurnmaggie likes this.
Old 10-15-2015, 05:05 PM

My Mood:
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nurseforever View Post